AZDFI.gov Arizona Department of Financial Institutions Official Website Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
AZ.gov Arizona's Official Web Site

Collection Agencies

This License is required of any person who directly or indirectly solicits claims for collection or collects claims owed, due or asserted to be owed or due to a third party.

As of January 2, 2017, new applicants and existing licensees are able to submit applications, renewals and transition filings through NMLS.  Even though it is not required to submit these records through NMLS, the Department highly encourages the use of NMLS for quicker and more efficient processing of new applications, branch applications, renewals and requested changes   

Who is exempt from this License?  Please review A.R.S. § 32-1004

NMLS
License Requirements
License Renewal
Forms and Fees
Required Reports
Laws, Rules, Substantive Policy Statements & Regulatory Alerts
Examination

You may submit documents to AzDFI electronically using AzDFI’s encrypted message service.

AzDFI Encrypted Message Service Instructions
AzDFI Encrypted Message Service


Inquiries concerning the preparation and filing of License and renewal applications with the Department should be directed to the Licensing Division at 602-771-2800 Option #2 or e-mail at licensing@azdfi.gov .  For more detailed contact information, see the “Contact Us” tab.

 

Requirements for License

You must submit to AZDFI a complete application package along with the applicable application fee.

License Renewal  

Except as provided in A.R.S. § 32-4301, a person desiring to secure renewal of a collection agency license shall file a financial statement, make a renewal application to the department and pay the fees as prescribed in A.R.S.§ 6-126 not later than January 1 of each year upon forms prescribed by the superintendent setting forth verified information to assist the superintendent in determining whether or not the applicant is in default of or in violation of the terms of this chapter and whether the applicant is still meeting the requirements of this chapter. If the renewal applicant is unable to make a financial statement at the time of filing the application the applicant may make a written request for an extension of time to file such financial report, and if the extension is granted the applicant shall file a financial statement within thirty days after the issuance of a renewal license.

Although current renewal packages are available on our website all year, they may only be submitted during the renewal period.  Licensees are responsible to submit their completed renewal package and applicable renewal fee to AzDFI by the statutory date. If your completed renewal package and applicable renewal fee are not received by AzDFI on or before the statutory date, your license will be suspended and/or closed.

  

Forms and Fees 

Application Fees and Forms for Collections Agencies
Arizona Revised Statues §6-126 et seq.

The following nonrefundable fees are payable to the department with the filing of the following applications:

Description

Fees

Forms

New Application
Each original application shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of one thousand five hundred dollars.

$1,500.00

Branch Office Application
Each branch application (Arizona locations only) shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of five hundred dollars.

$500.00

License Renewal
Renewal fee $600, each branch (Arizona locations only) $200

License Year: January 1, through December 31

Renewal Package Due: November 15 through January 1: Without Penalty.  January 2 through January 31: With Penalty.

 

$600.00

$200.00 each branch

Address Change

$50.00

Name Change
To change the licensee name on a financial institution or enterprise license, two hundred fifty dollars.

$250.00

Change of Control/Ownership change (“COC”)

$0.00

Active Manager Change

$250.00

Officer Change

$0.00

License Surrender
If you close your office or are no longer in business, return your original license(s) to AZDFI with a letter including the reason for closure.

0.00

Duplicate License
To issue a duplicate or replace a lost enterprise's license, one hundred dollars

$100.00


Required Reports

Fictitious Name Report (AAC R20-4-1520 C)

Due on July 1 and December 31 of each year.

 

Laws, Rules & Substantive Policy Statements & Regulatory Alerts 


Arizona Revised Statutes

 

Article 1  Administration
32-1001 Definitions
32-1004 Exemptions
     
Article 2    Licensing
32-1021   Original application for license; financial statement; bond; definition
32-1022   Contents of financial statement; bond provisions
32-1023   Qualifications of applicants
32-1024   Licensing out‑of‑state collection agents
32-1025   Annual renewal of license; suspension; expiration
32-1026   Issuance of licenses
32-1027   Issuance of provisional license for limited purposes
32-1028   Fees
     
Article 3    Regulation
32-1051   Duties of licensees
32-1053   Denial, revocation or suspension of license
32-1055   Unlawful acts
32-1056   Violation; classification
32-1057   Prosecution of violations; individual liability

 

Substantive Policy Statements
ARTICLE 1. General Administration

APPLICATIONS GE-1
CREDIT REPORTS/ARREST RECORDS  GE-3

 

Regulatory Alerts

Collection Agency

Regulatory Bulletin CA-05-01

 Examinations

It is the policy of AZDFI to select the most effective and efficient methods of conducting examinations so that significant risks affecting safety and soundness, as well as substantive statutory compliance, can be identified and, if necessary, appropriate supervisory action taken.  Judgment must be utilized to ensure that necessary procedures are performed and ineffective activities are avoided.

The examination fee in accordance with A.R.S. 6-125 is not more than sixty-five dollars per hour for each examiner.  The assessment late penalty is fifty dollars for each day after the thirty day period the enterprise fails to remit the assessment not to exceed the examination assessment amount.

Pursuant to A.R.S. 6-122(3) examination frequency is at the Superintendent’s discretion but at least once in a five year period

For questions concerning examination of your company or license, please contact the Financial Enterprise Division at 602-771-2777 or e-mail to financial@azdfi.gov. .

 

NMLS

 

#

Arizona Added Collection Agency License to NMLS on January 2, 2017

NMLS will receive new applications and transition filings for the Arizona Department of Financial Institutions’ Collection Agency License. New applicants and existing licensees will be able to submit these records through NMLS.

Note: Companies holding this license are encouraged to submit a license transition request through NMLS by filing a Company Form (MU1) and an Individual Form (MU2) for each of their control persons.  Additionally, for each branch holding a Collection Agency Branch License, companies must complete and submit a Branch Form (MU3). See the AZ Collection Agency License Transition Checklist and, if applicable, the AZ Collection Agency Branch License Transition Checklist for more information.
Managing Your License on NMLS
Each company holding an AzDFI Collection Agency License who wishes to manage their license on NMLS must create a company record in the system, both for the company itself and for each branch holding an AzDFI Collection Agency License. Once the company and branch forms have been completed, they may be submitted electronically through NMLS to the AzDFI.
NMLS is now available for you to create and begin completing your record. Access the State Licensing Requirements Checklists on the AzDFI page of the NMLS Resource Center for information about requirements. The checklists are available on the NMLS Resource Center.

How to Access NMLS
Note: If your company already has a record in NMLS, you do not need to do this step.
In order to gain access to NMLS for the first time, you must complete a Company Account Request Form and identify a Primary Account Administrator and a Secondary Account Administrator. This form can be submitted electronically through the NMLS website in the Getting Started section. This form needs to be submitted only once per company, regardless of the number of NMLS participating states in which you are licensed.
Within three days of completing and submitting the Company Account Request Form, the Primary Account Administrator will receive NMLS login information. The Primary Account Administrator for your company will have full rights to access the system, submit information to this agency and other participating state regulators, and set up other company users in the system. Instructions and tutorials on how to access and use the system are also available on the NMLS Resource Center.

Forms to Complete
Once you are able to access NMLS, you will need to submit the following through NMLS to AzDFI.

See the Company (MU1) Form Filing Instructions if you are completing the Company (MU1) Form for the first time.

Note: If you have submitted these forms to another state, then you do not need to re-enter your company or branch records into NMLS. You will only need to identify the appropriate license type in Arizona and complete a few state-specific fields.

If you are not currently transitioning to the NMLS system, please click here.

Fees
NMLS will annually charge a processing fee of $100 per company license, and $20 per licensed branch location renewed through the system. There is no processing fee for submitting a new application or transitioning an existing license onto NMLS.
There are no other NMLS processing fees. These processing fees pay for NMLS’ operations, including licensee system access 362 days per year, ability to maintain, renew and run reports on your licenses, and NMLS Call Center support.

NMLS Website
The NMLS Resource Center provides step-by-step instructions on how to access the system, guides on how to complete the forms, each state’s transition plans and requirements, tutorials, current and future participating agencies, system alerts, system processing fees, and general background information. Training opportunities are also available in the News & Events section and from the home page.
If you have any questions, feel free to contact LaTasha Ontiveros or Michelle Castaneda by email at lontiveros@azdfi.gov or mcastaneda@azdfi.gov